Knitted Skeleton Jumper

Despite the little health hiccups i’m having lately I’m still managing to keep myself busy and I’ve finished the skeleton jumper for my sister.

I used a basic oversized pattern for the jumper, (as my sister is like me in the respect that she likes her jumpers a bit roomy) and created my own chart for the skeleton pattern on the front.

Here’s the pattern I used (and adapted a bit) Skeleton Jumper

and here’s the chart (I’ve only made one for the small size jumper at the moment, will adapt it for the larger sizes later)

or heres a downloadable version in word skeleton patt.chart (small)

In total the jumper took about 73 hours to knit up and finish. It did knit up rather well. I used stylecraft special aran which has a really nice soft feel to it. I had a few hitches whilst knitting up the chart. Intarsia is not really my strong point and I leave the yarn at the back either too tight or too lose, so because there are a lot of yarn changes in this one (especially around the rib area)  what I ended up doing was leaving the yarn really loose at the back, then when I’d finished I cut in the middle of the lose bit of yarn and sewed it into the back of the piece.

Another hitch I had was that even though the jumper knitted up well and exactly to the measurements on the pattern, it is quite small so it’s only afterwards I realised that when the pattern says 40″ chest it isn’t an oversized 40″ chest but an exact fit for a 40″ chest. So I’d have to work out the oversizing myself.

Unfortunately because of the sizing it didn’t fit my sister (she’s quite busty) so no live model pictures just yet. However she is going to give it to one of her step-daughters, who it should fit so it will still go to good use.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:23:31

    looks fantastic! you’re very talented.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tartan cross-over top/mini-dress « Call the Seamstress!
  3. queenhare
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 18:44:00

    That’s brilliant! The design works so well, and I’m in awe of your knitting skills!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

