2017 Challenges

So it’s the start of another year, but instead of doing resolutions this year I thought I’d do challenges.

 Challenge #1 – If you’ve read my previous posts you may have come across my ‘reading roulette’ idea. Which is basically a random way of picking my next book to read from the numerous books that have been sitting untouched on my shelves for years. So I’ve expanded on this idea for 2017. I’ve chosen 12 books that I have either never got around to reading or I have only just acquired and want to ensure I read them. These twelve books I have divided these into four categories and chosen 3 for each, I shall be picking one at random every month, and hopefully writing a little about it.

 2017-01-03_15-41-19_909

In by twelve books I’ve chosen;

 3 Contemporary fiction:

  • The Ghost by Arnold Bennet
  • The watchmaker of filigree street by Natasha Pulley
  • Illumination by Matthew Plampin

 3 Classic fiction:

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  • Andersen’s fairy tales by Hans Christian Anderson
  • Emma by Jane Austen

 3 Non-fiction:

  •  The Fry Chronicles by Stephen Fry
  • The Running sky by Tim Dee
  • The field guide to Natural Wonders by Ian Whitelaw

 3 Hardbacks:

  • The long earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
  • Under the ivy: the life and music of Kate bush

 

Challenge #2 – Temperature Afghan

For those of you who do not know what one of these is, I’ll explain. Basically it’s an afghan where you knit/crochet a row or two of the afghan in a colour that is pre-chosen for the temperature high for that day, and at the end of the year you have a lovely multicoloured afghan.

thumb-1389641015415-temperature_afghan

Temperature afghan for the year, divided into two separate afghans. Photo from knittingparadise.com

 

In my area the temperature high for the day rarely drops below 0 degrees and rarely goes above 30 degrees, so I’ve adjusted my gauge accordingly

tempafg

and again, once a month I’ll share my progress

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment